top of page

Eta Chi

Indianapolis IN


Greetings from Eta Chi Chapter!


Member News




March 2015: Dr. Rose Mays received the Indiana University Maynard K. Hines Medal. The IU Alumni Association presents this award annually for unique and significant contributions to the IUPUI campus and its alumni program. The medal is named for the first chancellor of IUPUI and the former dean of the IU School of Dentistry. It is presented to recipients at the annual IUPUI Alumni Leaders’ dinner.


June 2015:  Eta Chi Chapter partnered with the Indianapolis Chapter of 100 Black Women in submitting a grant proposal titled, “Change of Heart”. Our proposal was approved by the Midwest Affiliates of the American Heart Association and we were awarded $3,000.00. The focus of the project is heart health and nutrition in women and children. The project will be implemented thru July 2016. At the conclusion of the project, a full report covering the project details and outcomes will be submitted in 2016.


October 2015:  Dr. Lillian G. Stokes and Dr. Angela McBride (honorary member) were inducted as honorary fellows into the National League for Nursing’s prestigious Academy of Nursing Education. The status of Honorary Fellows, recognizes retired nurse educators and those in affiliated professions or public service who have made significant contributions to nursing education.                                     


Academic Achievements:  


May 2015: Soror Esther Smith-Howell received her Doctoral Degree in Nursing Research from Indiana University School of Nursing. She is currently enrolled in the University of Pennsylvania Post Doctoral program for National Clinical Scholars.




Marion Linley, Inactive - November 2014

Ruth L. Jones, Inactive - February 23, 2015

Patricia Hayes, Inactive - October 22, 2015

bottom of page